Native wildlife is featured on this set of seven unofficial 2011 dated coins from the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The territory, located in the Indian Ocean, consists of 572 islands, of which just 38 are permanantly inhabited.  Denmark, Austria and Britain all attempted to colonize the islands.  Britain eventually turned it into a penal colony.  Japan occupied it in World War II.  They are now a Union Territory of India.  Over the years the indigenous inhabitants have been almost completely wiped out by disease, land encroachments and punitive military expeditions. Most of the few hundred that remain maintain a steadfast independence, refusing all outside contact.  The bi-metallic 20 Rupees pictures a Nautilus.  The bi-metallic 10 Rupees depicts a Dugong.  An Indian Wild Boar is on the 5 Rupees.  A Coconut Crab is shown on the 2 Rupees.  The 1 Rupee has a Kuhl's Flying Gecko.  A Stork-billed Kingfisher is on the 50 Paisa and the Anadman clubtail butterfly is on the 25 Paise.  The arms of the islands is on the obverse of each coin.

কোন মন্তব্য নেই:

একটি মন্তব্য পোস্ট করুন